Dark Poetry

Unknown

ANIME-08.jpg

 

I don’t know where I’m going with this,
I don’t know where this path leads.
All I know is that I’ve been straying from the path I’ve been;
straying towards the ledge, staring into the unseen.

Beyond this field of darkness could be greens,
There might be, or might not – who knows what’s there to be seen.
But the abyss, the darkness doesn’t seem to frighten me –
Maybe it’s cause it’s something I know, something I’m familiar with.

I don’t desire a torch to light up my way out
For I prefer this, finding my way alone in the dark.
It gets cold sometimes – with the chills running up my spine
But this is still familiar, this is still something to be called mine.

I don’t know where I’m going with this,
I don’t know where this path leads.
I do know that even when darkness descends,
I’ll be unafraid of it; I’ll embrace it just as I would a friend.

*****

“I shall die here. Every last inch of me shall parish. Except one. An inch. It’s small and it’s fragile and it’s the only thing in the world worth having. We must never lose it, or sell it, or give it away. We must never let them take it from us.” – Alan Moore

Leave a Reply

